PDA

View Full Version : Waitering tips...

3WheelHouston
08-25-2003, 09:59 PM
I'm starting my training as a waiter at a rather nice Mexican Restaurant tomorrow. Pappasito's, for those who know. Anyway, I've never done this before, so do's and don'ts would be appreciated. Thanks. And in case you wanna know why I'm posting this on a three wheeler site, it's because my tips will fund my trike.

TimSr
08-25-2003, 10:21 PM
In the case of a Mexican restaurant, absolutely do NOT get between a patron and the bathroom door.

Billy Golightly
08-25-2003, 10:34 PM
LMAO!!!!!!

kimmer250r
08-26-2003, 09:11 AM
Always keep there glasses full! Be polite, make sure there food is to them fast. It sucks waiting 45 mins for a meal. Keeping the drinks full is the big one, I don't know how many times I'm out to eat and hit some hot stuff, go for a drink and guess what....empty! Crap, now you have to sit and wait with a mouth full of burning ass hot food, waiting for your waiter to realize your still alive and get you another drink. I almost always tip a minimum of $5 no matter what the meal costs. If it is a more expensive dinner, then it is always 15-20% of the total bill. Good luck with the job, you can make some really good money at it.

Kook
08-26-2003, 10:04 AM
The one main thing that fries me when I go out to eat is if the waiter "asks" me if I want change. I'll tell you if I don't want change. Bring me the dang change and THEN I'll decide what your tip is. Sorry, bit of a rant there. Also, there is a fine line between polite/friendly and OVERLY friendly. I'm not trying to build a life-long friendship with you in the 45 minutes I'll be there, but make darn sure you're polite to me and I'll be good to you when it comes tip time. Enjoy! Being a waiter can actually be kind of fun it you let it be.

ATC crazy
08-26-2003, 04:53 PM