PDA

View Full Version : 83 250r the plan

JohnnyBeGood
05-25-2010, 05:17 PM
Ok so I just bought an 83 250r for 100 bucks but the top end is off the motor. I'm new to modifying atc's and 4 wheelers I've always just riden them. My plan is to bore it 0.40 over stick a weisco piston in it boyesen carbon reads and full dg exhaust and a carb off an 85/86 250r and a uni filter and of course w.e jetting nessecary. How does this combo sound? Think it'll run hard? Oh and some 400ex rear hubs for alittle more sliding stability. What y'all think?

jeddy
05-26-2010, 02:02 PM
Sounds good. I would try and get the flatslide carb ('86) if you're set on putting a different carb on it. Otherwise I'd just run the stock carb if you already have it. You should probably take a good look at the crank bearings while it's apart, and you should throw some new crank seals in it also to be safe. On my banshee powered Tri-Z I used the carbon reeds that are closer to $40 range rather than the more expensive pro ones that are closer to $100, and I'm really happy with them.
-Jed

nitrodude81r
05-26-2010, 02:41 PM
Ok so I just bought an 83 250r for 100 bucks but the top end is off the motor. I'm new to modifying atc's and 4 wheelers I've always just riden them. My plan is to bore it 0.40 over stick a weisco piston in it boyesen carbon reads and full dg exhaust and a carb off an 85/86 250r and a uni filter and of course w.e jetting nessecary. How does this combo sound? Think it'll run hard? Oh and some 400ex rear hubs for alittle more sliding stability. What y'all think?

I have a flatslide carb, UNI filter and DG exhaust on mine and it makes a HUGE difference. You better hang on :lol:

JohnnyBeGood
05-26-2010, 04:32 PM