PDA

View Full Version : Reinventing the fork

Mendomotox
07-15-2010, 05:55 AM
Hey guys, I was wondering if any one has considered using non-telescopic forks on there trikes?

Check out these sidecar MXers with swing arm front suspension.
link to sidecarcross websitehttp://www.sidecarcross.com/
someone told me that the reason the sidecars use the type of suspention they do is because the side loads created by the side car can jam up conventional, telescopic forks.

I also found this pic of an old HRC race bike, (two wheels), with a mono shock front end. I was web surfing one time and i saved the pic. but can't remember what the site was called now. I think they called the bike, 'the robo bike' or something. its the attachment.

Im rather new to 3 wheelers, but I was wondering if there was anything to gain if this was applied to trikes. Just a thought, what do you guys think??? good idea, bad idea, has anyone tried it???

TrailerRider
07-16-2010, 12:53 PM
Holy crap. Untill now I have never heard of side car racing. Why don't they just get a real 3 wheeler... I think they look terrible, unsafe, prone to major failure and just plain ridiculous. I mean geese look at how many points of failure there are in the pic you posted. Sorry to anyone that rides these contraptions but there is no way I would ride one of those. :crazy:

Mendomotox
07-16-2010, 06:19 PM
i thought they were weird too, i would still want to ride one. but i wouldn't want to be the passenger!! but what do u think of the suspension?

Dirtcrasher
07-17-2010, 05:23 PM
I think they are lovely Honda Research and Development history, but too many linkage and failure points.....

Billy Golightly
07-17-2010, 06:00 PM