PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone a pilot or in the aviation business?

Danold
07-15-2010, 11:10 PM
While I was going to college at Pittsburgh Institute of Aeronuatics(PIA) I decided to do something I always wanted to do, become a pilot. So, I took some classes at Allegheny Community College and started my training at Pittsburgh Flight Training Center(PFTC) at Allegheny County Airport. Well I graduated from PIA in June but didnt have enough time to finish my training :(. I have about 40hrs of flight time in and 3hrs of that is solo flight.

I graduated from PIA an earned my Airframe & Powerplant license to become an airplane mechanic, and thats just what I'm gonna do. I landed a job in Brunswick, GA working on 727s, Airbuses, and other large aircraft. There is a small flight school on the airport I'm going to and if I can still afford it (nothing about aviation is cheap), I will finish it up and become a Private Pilot.

So, does anybody have a pilots license, is an A&P mechanic, or an air traffic controller?

Here are some vids from my first solo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpaVjJsR__E
Flying around Allegheny County Airport.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGUCyTPpDyM
Some steep turns south of the airport.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yL0FvvPE4w
Flying slow also south of the airport. That highway is PA 43 Turnpike.

I highly recommend taking lessons or finding a pilot that would take you up, its worth every minute.

Red Rider
07-16-2010, 03:13 AM
Yep, another pilot here. Congratulations on the first solo! Did your instructor cut the back of your shirt off?

Danold
07-16-2010, 05:42 PM
No they didn't. I guess the school quit doing that when a student decided that it was sexual harassment....

Anywho, How many hours do you have and what plane did you take your training in?

Vealmonkey
07-16-2010, 06:08 PM