PDA

View Full Version : Anyone recommend a good cheap pair of workboots?

TheRealFatShady
07-16-2010, 02:02 PM
I need some new boots. I landscape, often work with construction type materials, constantly outside and doing 'rugged' work.

My Timberlands have fallen apart, within about 2 months. They used to be the best boots IMO, but their quality is no-longer existent.

Can anyone recommend a good pair of boots, steel toe or not. Hopefully there is a hidden 'cheap' brand that hold up well.

PS: Size 12, slightly wider foot.

Thanks

Walkerallen
07-16-2010, 02:07 PM
i like the Carolina logger style. i wear the size 12 ee and it fits perfect. and for only $87.99 you cant beat the quality. im a mechanic and the constant on and off the knees, the toes of the boots are still there 10 months later. but this is just my opinion.

Mr_RPM
07-16-2010, 03:45 PM
Caterpillar Makes a great steel toe boot. I got mine for 70 bucks on sale, retail was 89.99
I am on my 2nd pair, each lasting 1.5 years. i could have stretched them a little longer though.

alot of my friends buy those tan surviver man boots from wal-mart for 40 bucks and they seem to last a very long time. my dad had a pair for a few years. he only complained that they weren't the most comfortable. nothing new insoles didn't fix.

stay away from Dickie brand boots. i hated them and everyone i know thats had them hated them. they wear out fast

dainpstewart
07-16-2010, 03:51 PM
check into red wing shoes...they are generally pricey, but they make some great boots

haggard 2hundie
07-16-2010, 09:01 PM
brahama from wally world are decent

86trizinger
07-16-2010, 09:09 PM
I kept going through boots. I finally was at a military surplus sale and got a new set of them. Those are comfortable and I have had them for almost 2 years now.

jeffatc250r
07-16-2010, 09:31 PM