PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a possible build.

DragonsBane
07-18-2010, 06:29 PM
I need some help with a possible build. I have a high horsepower XR500 motor I salveged from my high speed dump in the desert awhile ago. Powroll stroker crank, 540 bigbore kit, aftermarket cam, and a host of other goodies. Works out to around 628 cc's

I see alot of people using the XR frames to create their own three wheelers. What is involved with adapting the swingarms and the triple trees to the dirt bike frame? Do they more or less bolt in? Or is machining required? If machining is required that is not a problem since I am a machinist and a certified welder.

TexFest
07-19-2010, 10:59 PM
you could just build your own frame, but that might get expensive or get a xr500 frame and build a new subframe to get the correct ride height and add 350x triple trees on the front. Also you could get a 450r swinger on ebay, there's plenty of them on there and they're cheap also.

just an idea, i'm sure some other people on here will have some good ideas also

DragonsBane
07-19-2010, 11:36 PM
TexFest,

That was what I was looking for. I have a second XR500 I bought for parts and I picked up a nearly complete 350X chassis for nothing thinking I could put the other XR500 motor in it. Looks like this is going to get interesting.

TexFest
07-20-2010, 12:09 AM
TexFest,

That was what I was looking for. I have a second XR500 I bought for parts and I picked up a nearly complete 350X chassis for nothing thinking I could put the other XR500 motor in it. Looks like this is going to get interesting.

the 350x chassis would need alot of mods for the 500 to fit, just do some searches on here and you could find plenty of info on what youre looking for

jeddy
07-20-2010, 01:58 PM