PDA

View Full Version : How much can I expect a Auto garage to charge...?

Mr_RPM
01-16-2011, 08:54 PM
Been lazy with some things on my jeep and Im starting to think about just taking it in.

I need my rear differential fluid changed and my transmission fluid changed and the adjuster bands in the transmission adjusted (whatever the heck those are, its what my owners manual says in the same sentence to change tranny fluid)

Im not very good at getting my hands dirty and In the cold with no garage hard floor (dirt floor barn)and with no lift or jack stands Im getting less determined. we are set up for bikes, trikes, and quads. This car stuff is out of my league.

I have fresh engine oil and oil filter
new spark plugs
new air filter
fresh front diff fluid (dealer had to fix a leak before I bought it)
New transfer case oil
and everything else going to the owners manual is all set except for the rear diff and tranny.
Id like to get this done asap with the other stuff we have done since they are over due since Must owners skip these things.

how much do you think the average garage would charge? I need to go to the used car place I bought the jeep from to pick up some half doors the previous owner dropped off and Im thinking about just getting everything I need done too.

what else do I need done anyway? just off of normal maintanece since your not able to inspect the jeep.

I have never had anything worked on before...lol

300rman
01-16-2011, 10:04 PM
Well, i'll tell you right now taking shops your own parts you are gonna get charged more for labor.

shops make money selling you parts, and there was a good chance they whatever price they sold you the part for was cheaper than what you bought it for.

tj-1bad250r
01-16-2011, 10:18 PM
tranny fluid change and adjust is 85 and the front diff cant be to much but whats labor up to now like 89an hour?

Mr_RPM
01-16-2011, 11:36 PM