PDA

View Full Version : Irritating customers, lets hear about yours.

xsrock
01-29-2011, 11:52 AM
Anyone else get annoyed when you are doing a job and the customer looks over your shoulder the whole time. Had one yesterday. Was wiring the basement of a new house and the homeowner stayed right with me for most of the day just watching. Don't know why it bugs me, but it does. I should make up one of those rate schedules that go up if you watch or help. He is a nice guy, but man I wish he would go away.

dcreel
01-29-2011, 12:07 PM
I think the issue is with the scumbags that do shoddy work and expect good money for it. If I have the opportunity I will do the same thing as your customer. It's hard to find good honest people to do work for you anymore. Let alone come into your home and do work for you. When I was an owner operator and getting work done to my truck I'd be up in the tech's @$$ to make sure things got done correctly. My point is that you have to see it from his point of view. He doesn't want to be replacing or having someone else redo your work a few years down the line. Watch Holmes on Homes. Just think, if you do a great job and he witnesses it.. you will get that much more positive feedback for more business.

cattle-dog
01-29-2011, 12:24 PM
we have a construction company been in business 45 years, true there is shoddy work out there, the thing is people want someone to do thier work as cheap as possible, so you get scumbags that will work for peanuts. they have no insurance , comp or liability and drive junk trucks.
instead of trying to get a-1 quality work for nothing while bringing home the good wages themselves try hiring the middle priced guy in the quotes you get, let him make a decent living and you wont get a guy who just wants to get done to get his money.
oh and we dont advertise its all referal my customers do the talking for me.
tell the customer they are not covered when they cause a accident by being in your way allday.