PDA

View Full Version : Strange leg fracture. Lost another triker/biker.

tri again
09-03-2011, 11:18 AM
Local bike shop guy got a side job with some trucking company.
Bike biz is down for various reasons, but son and wife are keeping the shop going.

Anyway, he fell off the lift gate and broke the femur right near the hip joint.
They put a rod and screws in.
ok so far.
A couple days later his abdomen started to distend. Belly bulge.
Thinking he had a bowel obstruction, they did a gi imaging and found nothing wrong.

A couple hrs later he was pronounced dead.

Bad fractures can throw bone marrow, kinda like blood clots in the wrong place, if there is one.

Wonder what they missed?

atc007
09-03-2011, 09:07 PM
I have to ask,,are you a DR.? What specialty if so? I think you're a Trauma doc : ) ... That is a dam shame about the bike guy.... So sad...

Dirtcrasher
09-03-2011, 09:08 PM
I guess they missed being a professional...............

tanks350x
09-03-2011, 10:18 PM
I'm no expert by any means but, when you start talking his abdomen being distended.. That, nine times out of ten, means a ruptured spleen, or pancreas... My landlords g/f just went through that. she went to the alpine slides in N.H somewhere. She was half way down and it started raining, the sled gained speed, it hit bottom and launched her out of it. She landed on her side close to 30 feet away from the sled.. She was in the hospital for almost 2 weeks, and now she is at her parents house with tubes still in her abdomen.... ouch!!! poor girl...what a lawsuit she will have though! :naughty:
Sorry to hear about losing another fellow triker though,,, so sad

86T3
09-04-2011, 01:03 AM
What a law suit. The american way.

Chazz of Blades
09-04-2011, 02:01 AM
Blah, it's all these jagoffs filing suits for every single papercut they get that has damaged the Honor of the world, and there's a prime example two posts above me. Not the slide company's fault in the least if you want to go down when it could rain.