PDA

View Full Version : just bought YFZ 450

krizo88
11-05-2003, 02:58 PM
Just picked it up a couple days ago, over all I am pretty impressed with the machine. The suspension and over all power of the machine is better than what I expected. I am pretty new to 4 strokes and I was wondering if it is normal that the head pipe turns cherry red after about 2-3 minutes of running/idling??? Other than that it is very cold blooded and doesnt have a very good turning radius. Maybe I am just used to 2 strokes and three wheelers. Anybody know the top speed of this machine? I will find out this weekend with my friends radar gun, but I was just curious to know before hand. Later

Wickedfinger
11-05-2003, 06:03 PM
Throw us some pics.

ATC crazy
11-05-2003, 06:46 PM
I am pretty new to 4 strokes and I was wondering if it is normal that the head pipe turns cherry red after about 2-3 minutes of running/idling???

:shock: There is something wrong with it. I'd say jetting...but definately get it checked out before any damage is done...

krizo88
11-05-2003, 06:58 PM
I will contact the dealer in the morning, but you would think it was over heating and if it was it has an idiot light that never came on. I will post some pics after I get this figured out. Thanks guys

REDMAN225
11-05-2003, 06:58 PM
i agree...get it checked asap!

350Xccelerator
11-05-2003, 07:56 PM
did you get the blue one or the white and red one?

Billy Golightly
11-05-2003, 08:02 PM
a red headpipe on a 4 stroke is almost always a lean condition in the carb.

350Xccelerator
11-05-2003, 08:50 PM
my buddies 88 warrior does the same thing, what will happen if it runs like that for a long time?

KASEY
11-05-2003, 09:17 PM
i rode with 3 450's last weekend in the dunes,,, they all were cherry red at night from idling,,, maybe a little lean to pass EPA....... i was concerned the owners weren't,,,,

krizo88
11-06-2003, 01:01 AM