PDA

View Full Version : Honda ATC 110 Weak Spark

KI4UJO
01-02-2012, 10:07 PM
This unit is producing a blue spark, but it is very small. I do not currently have a fuel tank hooked up (carb leaks), but I sprayed starter fluid in it
and could not get it to fire. When pulling the plug, I could smell the starter fluid on it and was slightly wet. I cleaned the ground and hot on the coil, but it was not any stronger. Do these motors not like starter fluid, as I thought the spark was big enough to make it run? Is there something I need
to do to get a larger spark? I'm obviously a noob here, but not to mechanics themselves. I have worked with a GY6 before, but do not have much
experience with these.
Thank You

drivetime
01-03-2012, 12:21 AM
It could be a few things but I would check the gap on the generator it could have widenend and not be making good enough contact. Is there any bad connections anywhere else in the wiring. also the generator is the little cover that says cdi on it. I would clean that then adjust the contact points and see what that does. I believe the gap should be like .03 or .04

KI4UJO
01-03-2012, 01:53 AM
Ok, I will try that tomorrow. By the generator I am assuming you mean the winding underneath the flywheel?

drivetime
01-03-2012, 02:07 AM
No. The generator is the little cover about 3in round that says cdi on it. It should be a silver color and 2 wires coming out of it.

amorgan
01-03-2012, 03:22 AM
To the best of my knowledge all of them don't say cdi . the early models had points instead of a cdi so the early ones didn't have cdi on it.

muthey
01-03-2012, 11:44 AM