PDA

View Full Version : 1986 YTM225 no start

DocBA
01-12-2012, 11:54 PM
I am a professional automotive technician and cannot get this thing running. It has fuel, I have fed it with carb cleaner, I have even fed a little gas in the combustion chamber. So fuel isn't the problem. I have a strong blue spark from the plug, the plug is new, and has been gapped to specification. I'm guessing it's a timing issue. The only way I get his thing to fire is if the muffler loads up with fuel and goes off. Timing check to come.....anything I might be missing/suggestions would be great.

Thanks,
Brad

muthey
01-13-2012, 03:27 AM
Air if you are not getting proper air flow it will just flood. Have you cleaned the air filter,re-oiled it and checked the airway through the frame for a plug? Also in the bowl base of the carb there is a starter jet down one of the holes. If that gets plugged it will wreak havoc on you. Yamaha is really simple for timing, if you have the manual, and check to make sure the marks line up at tdc then it's right. Here is a link to a downloadable manual http://www.oscarmayer.net/atc/manuals/

DocBA
01-17-2012, 10:14 PM
Air flow wasn't much of an issue as the filter isn't hooked up right now. Timing checked out spot on. So I brought home my compression gauge......30lbs. I adjusted the valves.......40lbs.....I added some oil to the hole and....45lbs. Now my abbreviated manual, doesn't mention it, and only having an iPhone for Internet I can't view the large manual, I believe that this is WAY under specification. So what are my common problems here? Need to re-ring it? Valves? Bore it and stick in a new slug? It's not the effort of rebuilding this that bothers me. It's the possible monetary outlay on a bike that was given to me, after someone welded a 400ex front end on it....bastards. Anyways a little help getting started in the right direction would be great.

DocBA
01-18-2012, 08:23 PM