PDA

View Full Version : Yuma Az. or Phoenix area?? Move questions!!

250rs-neva-die
03-08-2012, 05:35 PM
Since I was about 10 years old I have wanted to move to Arizona. Now I'm going to be 28 next week and I would really like to make this happen over the next couple of years. I was hoping that someone that lives in the area would answer a few questions for me. What is the average cost of homes in the area? Is the cost of living high or average? What is the Electric company for this area? Do they have alot of underground electrical? I ask because that is what I do for work and would hope to try and get a job with the power company. Does anyone work for them or know anyone that does that could help me out? I have been doing underground distribution cable splicing for 7 years now. I have a national certification and finished a 3 year apprenticeship through my local union. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I never seem to have any luck when I do a google search. Thanks in advance for the help guys!!

Mr. Clean
03-08-2012, 05:54 PM
What is the average cost of homes in the area? Depends upon the area, AZ was one of the top three hardest hit states during the housing boom. I bought a 2000 square foot house in 2008 for 150K, that same house has leveled off around $100K Housing is very affordable, but locations like Scottsdale are still expensive. Is the cost of living high or average? I would say the cost of living is average.
What is the Electric company for this area? We have APS or SRP.
Do they have alot of underground electrical? I have no clue
Does anyone work for them or know anyone that does that could help me out? No one I know works for them.

Here is a forum I went to prior to moving to PHX. Yuma is a very small town compared to PHX, but is only about 20 minutes from the dunes.

http://www.city-data.com/forum/phoenix-area/

250rs-neva-die
03-08-2012, 06:03 PM