PDA

View Full Version : 1983 yamaha 200E shifts but will not go in gear shaft drive

billygo
03-12-2012, 05:36 PM
I am new to this site ,and thought I might get some answers here, I bought this trike , which is in absolutely mint conditions , runs like clockwork , it is a shaft drive , it shifts but will not go in gear or dive , I am new at this , and all help or possible scenarios will be appreciated Thanks

ytm200steve
03-13-2012, 12:24 AM
welcome to the fourm:TrikesOwn dose it make any noises when you put it in gear? if it dose i bet it is something with the rear end if it dosent try this on the i belive right side there is a 10 or 12mm nut with a flathead or philips head screw in the middle its for adjusting the clutch loosen the nmut and then turn the screw a little bit and tighten it back down and see if it makes a diffrence try to play around with that for a little bit hope it works if not it could be a few other things but i always try that first

billygo
03-13-2012, 04:59 PM
Thanks for that information , I willdefinetly give that a try this weekend , hope that will do the trick

muthey
03-14-2012, 10:24 AM
definitely try the clutch adjustment, and if there is grinding isolate where it is coming from, but if nothing you do changes the issue get back to us and we can start leading you in the right direction. Have you check the rear differential fluid yet, and or tried to push it in gear while it's running? Also when it's off and you shift it in gear does it engage if you rock it forward or backwards.

billygo
03-15-2012, 04:43 PM
well I have tried that to no avail , does not do anything it shifts alright the green light comes on in neutral and once shifted dissapears but nothing happen ,, worth scenario , remove the engine and checkl and possibly install a new clutch would that do it

billygo
03-15-2012, 04:47 PM
thanks guys for the comeback sure appreciate it ,I will check the fluid level tomorrow and try the rocking motion also

billygo