PDA

View Full Version : Any roofers here? Question about shingles

Scootertrash
04-19-2012, 08:11 AM
I need to replace my shingles on my house and I found a good deal on TAMKO Architectural Heritage with 30 yr warranty shingles : Any good or junk??

ETA: $68 a square. GAF shingles are $90 a square at home depot.

Thanks in advance!!

HuffieVA
04-19-2012, 08:53 AM
I've been a commercial roofer for a little over 22 years, so shingles aren't exactly my specialty, but Tamko is a reputable company and does make decent products. One thing to realize is that residential warranties are not worth the paper they are printed on unless they are installed by a contractor certified to install that brand, it doesn't mean they won't last 30 years but it does mean that if they don't you wont get anything from them, and that goes for all of them (Owens Corning, Elk, Tamko, GAF, Certainteed, etc) $68 a square is cheap, they are likely overstock or a cancelled order so be sure they have enough of the color you want and that the lot numbers match or you will have different shades of color.

just ben
04-19-2012, 09:28 AM
I put the same shingles on my old house. I never had any trouble with the product. If you get them and there is different lot numbers just mix the bundles

El Camexican
04-19-2012, 11:23 AM
If you get them and there is different lot numbers just mix the bundles

That is some good advice, but where were you when my idiot flooring guy recreated a Tetris screen on my patio? :cry:

Jason125m
04-19-2012, 12:02 PM
Did my Cottage in them, 5 years later, already need replacing.

atc007
04-19-2012, 12:12 PM
I am DEF NOT a roofer! But my advice,,GO STEEL,and never ,ever look back. Ends all your headaches.

Scootertrash
04-19-2012, 12:49 PM
Did my Cottage in them, 5 years later, already need replacing.

What happened that they need replacing? If they are delaminating, that can happen to any composite shingle. That's what the warranty is for.