PDA

View Full Version : New from the Texas Gulf Coast

mapplethorpe
04-27-2012, 05:48 PM
Greetings... I'm a newbie that just picked up a 1986 Honda 200x today. I traded a rough 1978 Suzuki RM50 (that I bought 2 months ago for 100.00) for the Honda straight up, so I'm not sure who has the better end of the deal right now, lol. The guy I got it from has had it since it was new and it looks fairly nice.

I didn't plan on owning this Honda, but I needed something to ride along with my son, who rides a 2003 Kawasaki KX65. I originally bought the Suzuki RM50 for him, but it just needed too much work. So instead, I found the KX65 and it's been great... Except that I'm stuck at home base screaming at him across the pasture "Shift into 3rd!!!"

So in my eyes, I have a 100.00 Honda 3 wheeler that I dreamed of when I was in Junior High, and I don't even know if it runs.

I'll be looking for suggestions on how to deal with a crankcase gasket leak... Sounds like that could be a "fun" job, lol. I've never rebuilt an engine, but I have friends who have and there's always youtube, repair manuals, and of course you guys. Like I said, I'm into this thing for a 100.00 so I'm more apt to take some risks.

I look forward to hearing from y'all!

RaceBannon
04-28-2012, 05:40 AM
Welcome fellow 3rd coaster. I have 2 200x's. They are great fun to work on and ride. As you'll see from my location, I also live in Brazoria County. Small world.

You are definately on the proper forum, the guys here have a wealth of information and trike wisdom.

Good luck and enjoy.

MonroeMike
04-29-2012, 02:48 AM
Welcome to the site.

http://72.52.143.80/~trikes/Manuals/ATC%20manuals/86-87atc200xservicemanual.pdf

mapplethorpe
05-01-2012, 05:06 PM
Thanks for the hospitality and the manual! You just saved me a Google search!

I pulled the carb and gave it a good cleaning along with the airbox and filter. I replaced the spark plug and it cranked up and ran beautifully after only 4 kicks.