PDA

View Full Version : new to the new tri z and still beatin on the ol' 200x basher

TRI-CYCLE
04-29-2012, 02:00 AM
Hey guys I recently bought a 85 tri z that was "fully restored" but it was a few issue,
-the engine will Only run if the choke lever is up, has no power when its down, at all. Which way is choke on these?
-its got a dg pipe, but where the pipe is clamped to the front of the engine it leaks oil and smoke BAD. is there a gasket in there? Or just in need of tighter springs?

- the shock and linkage on swing arm has alot of play.. almost like he used smaller bolts when bolting the shock and linkage to the swing arm, where can I find the RIGHT hardware?

Its a great running bike. I'm new to 2 strokes so its a learning curve to me, but I already love them. I'm just very busy in the oilfields of north Dakota and don't get much browsing time online for parts.. it would be greatly appreciated if any of the tri z historians could help me with the few small problems and parts needed!!
Also I'm looking for a good set of after market bars and hand guards for it. Slightly wider is comfortable to me.

I've also got an 86 200x with all white plastics, rear wheel spacers, larger sprockets, straight pipe, all aluminum dg skid plates and grab bar, and itp hole shots. Its sorta beat up but has a rebuilt motor and rips pretty nicely. Planning to fix it up slowly, but its kind of the beater atc I have that I can have my fun on without TOTALLY regretting it like on a rarer 2 stroke model bike. Ill post a few pics. Thanks for reading and advice guys! Great forum by the way!

TRI-CYCLE
04-29-2012, 02:15 AM

Mosh
04-29-2012, 08:07 AM
That is a pretty nice looking Tri-Z.

There are 2 gaskets for the jug and pipe. One is a small wave washer and the other is a tin cup that goes over the jug flange. Some guys are using a donut gasket for a car exhaust to seal them too. I guess you can find them at Auto Zone pretty easy. You have to do a search on here for the part number.