PDA

View Full Version : '85 ATC 250R Rebuild

mrmoto
06-19-2012, 02:54 AM
Hi everyone,
I am doing a ground up rebuild on my ATC 250R that I bought new in '85, rode it for about 6 years, and it sat ever since. I have most of the work done and I am getting close to the full assembly process except for the engine. It is currently apart and I am looking to have it powder coated and then putting it back together. After searching here I wanted to get some opinions on what I am looking at doing to the motor to add some kick in the pants. I am not an expert but have a pretty good idea whats going on (I think hehe).

I will be riding desert, dunes, and mx in Southern California, Pismo, and of course Glamis. And I am not trying to build an all out dragster.

Anyway here is what I have come up with searching here and other places. Also, I work for Honda Corp so I get all OEM parts at cost so I am going OEM wherever possible to save $$$

What I have so far:
The cylinder just got bored and is now a 66.5
Pro X piston kit (same piston as Honda sold)
New OEM spec Hot Rods crank and rod
All new OEM bearings, seals, clutch

What I am looking to add/do
ESR RB2000 Billet Reed Block (do I need the spacer???)
38mm AirStryker Keihin Carb with airbox and intake boots
Paul Turner High Rev Pipe with a Fatboy 2 silencer
Stock air box with 3 - 1" holes drilled on each side and a UNI filter
2001 CR250 ignition (maybe, I also want to keep lights)
ESR Billet Counterbalancer Bearing Carrier

Would this setup HAVE to include porting?
I know I will be jetting
Would the NGK BR8ES spark pulg be the one for this setup?

Does this look like a solid setup?

Thank you all in advance!

RTR318
06-23-2012, 11:24 PM