PDA

View Full Version : 2 stroke rebuild different from 4????

outcrydrummer
07-13-2012, 04:51 PM
Hey guys.

So I picked up a 84 250r yesterday. Runs good but I can hear a little, what sounds like anyways, crank bearing play. It doesn't affect the riding its just there.

So anyways, I'm getting a little bit of extra fluff in the budget end of the month and I'd like to rebuild the engine............... well all the shops close to me , fayetteville nc, are way way way way overpriced on this.

So my question is........

Am I going to run into any issues trying to rebuild the 2 stroke myself?

I have tools, I'm a mechanic in the Army but I don't ever mess with 2 strokes. I've rebuilt a few top ends before on some 4 stroke trikes I've owned but never gone down to the crank or bearings.
I'm pretty good with mechanical stuff, obviously lol, I just want to get some suggestions before I go ripping it to pieces.

I have a torque wrench, ring compressor, honing wand, and general tools....................anything else I will need?
Whats the best rebuild kit for the 250r?
I seriously doubt it needs to be bored as the compression is pretty awesome........to the point it will almost hurt me when kick starting it lol.

Any tips or suggestions are most welcome.

Thanks guys

Josh

RIDE-RED 250r
07-13-2012, 07:54 PM
You might not need a rebuild at all. I have noticed that on air cooled 2-strokes, the cooling fins tend to amplify the noises associated with the engine running as it should...

But, if you decide to pull it apart and check things over anyway (and nobody would scorn you if you did) they are alot simpler than a 4-stroke.. especially an air cooled 2-stroke since you don't have to deal with coolant... Once you get the engine accessible or out of the chassis, you will have the topend off in minutes.