PDA

View Full Version : Shooting for a Promotion

Popeye
07-29-2012, 01:40 AM
I'm currently in my first year as an Assistant Baseball Coach at my alma mater and now 6 months before the season starts my head coach just got fired. I hate to see him go, but I am excited about the opportunity to move up for me and my family. He's older, so I expected him to get out in the next year or two. That would have given me an opportunity to prove myself on the field. Now I have to do it in a meeting room with the School Board and Athletic Director. Education-wise, I will be the most qualified candidate. But, I only have two years of experience compared to my "opponents" seven. Not to sound cocky, but I forgot more about baseball yesterday than the other guy has learned in those seven years. Just hoping they can see past all of it and hire the right guy for the job- me lol. It has been a dream of mine since I started college to coach at my old high school. It's the only school I want to coach at- the job definitely ain't worth the money. I just love my old team. If I can't get the head job here, I will probably get out of the coaching profession and just stick to teaching (just about the same money and half the hours and headaches). So....here's to hoping I land my dream job :beer.

just ben
07-29-2012, 08:57 AM
good luck to you,

atc007
07-29-2012, 10:28 AM
Either way the coin flips. It will all work out for ya. Most things happen for a reason. Good luck!

Popeye
07-29-2012, 10:40 AM
Thanks ya'll, it has me excited and nervous at the same time. Last week I felt sure I was within a year or two of the job. Now with this happening, if they brought somebody else in it could definitely set me back a few years.

Popeye
07-30-2012, 08:53 PM