PDA

View Full Version : America's youth

fabiodriven
08-02-2012, 02:54 PM
As if I really need to be starting another thread right now after the one I just started...

So I work for a small company and I work by myself for 40 hours a week. I do not work weekends. It's a great job really. It's a gravy job. It has its days when it can be demanding but for the most part you just have to show up and get paid.

I recently started training a kid (he's about 21) to cover me if I need a day off or take a vacation. It's hard to find somebody to cover me because people with my credentials already have a full time job. This kid went to get his commercial inspection license (on the company's dime) and already had a CDL, the two requirements to do my job. The first day he was scheduled to come in for training, I told him to be here at 8 am. I had a truck scheduled to come in for inspection at that time and I wanted to show him how to do it. Welp, 8 o'clock comes and goes and I send him a text. He says he'll be right in. He rolls in at about 20 past 8 with a coffee in his hand. I had him finish up the inspection and I waited until the customer left before I spoke to him. I told him the problem I had with him coming in late on his first day, coffee in hand. "Well I made the coffee at home" he says. Not a valid excuse in my book. He then informed me that he was just here for training and that I'm not his boss. I quickly corrected him and informed him that I am, indeed, his boss. Aside from training we won't be working together, but I've been here for 4 years and I have thousands of inspections under my belt. I thought I made myself clear.