PDA

View Full Version : My trike...won't shift

onedollartrike
09-17-2012, 03:13 PM
I recently purchased a 1984 Honda 125 for $1! Only problem is that it won't shift into gear. I got it from a family member that good care of it but he said one day it just wouldnt shift into gear. He then put it in his he'd and that's where it has sat until yesterday. I'm no mechanic but I am ok at fixing things if I know what the problem is. Any ideas or past experiences with this? Any advice will help.

fabiodriven
09-17-2012, 03:50 PM
One simple solution that works sometimes, particularly with the model you have, is to change the oil. I've seen that fix more than one of these trikes that were stuck in gear or wouldn't go into gear.

Get yourself a nice motorcycle or ATV oil, change it, and go from there. DO NOT use regular car engine oil. It does not have the right additives to support a wet clutch.

dustrunner
09-17-2012, 07:59 PM
if that atc has a hi-lo range down on the pull start side of the engine. make sure it is either all the way forward or back and them try to shift it...

ezmoney1979
09-17-2012, 08:48 PM
Shift drum stoppers are a common problem also.

tri again
09-18-2012, 07:05 PM
search key has tons of 'shift' info.
x2 on an oil change for any new machines.
Clutch adjust is easy and free.
service manual
is avail for free.
Worst case is take the side cover off withOUT losing, dropping or misplacing
anything.
Take lots of pix and get a side cover gasket.
Drain the oil and lay the trike as dead level on it's side before you take the side cover off.

yeah, best is read everything you can about 'shift problems 125m'
or search key for the word 'shift' and you can pick the posts that apply to the 125m.

I had am external shifter bent just enough to drag on the case but hard to notice.
Could be super simple or a 9 dollar shift drum stopper that can be fixed in an hour or so with about 4 tools.

Congrats on the new trike and welcome btw.
You'll get it.
We always do.

TimSr