PDA

View Full Version : New to page and trike repair in general

chris_drover
10-29-2012, 08:47 PM
Hi there, Im new to this so please bare with me. I just picked up a 1984 200 big red and have a couple concerns. The big one right now being the oil leak coming from where the pull start bolts to the crankcase. I can see oil dripping from there as well the cord in the pull start is soaked with oil. I have done my research and have concluded that the o-ring on the bolt that holds the starter driven pulley as well as the oil seal around this pulley are bad. First question is am I correct in my diagnosis? If I am, do I have to remove the crank case cover to replace the seal or do I just need to remove this pulley? Also, what do I ask for at my local Honda dealer to ensure I receive the proper seal and o-ring?

sylviabanks
10-30-2012, 03:05 AM
hello welcome to the forum

dustrunner
11-01-2012, 09:43 AM
hi, and welcome.. is the oil low on the dipstick after sitting ? i have put oil in a recoil before to lubricate it and get it working better... im not saying thats your problem but who knows....

tri again
11-01-2012, 05:28 PM
Hi there, Im new to this so please bare with me. I just picked up a 1984 200 big red and have a couple concerns. The big one right now being the oil leak coming from where the pull start bolts to the crankcase. I can see oil dripping from there as well the cord in the pull start is soaked with oil. I have done my research and have concluded that the o-ring on the bolt that holds the starter driven pulley as well as the oil seal around this pulley are bad. First question is am I correct in my diagnosis? If I am, do I have to remove the crank case cover to replace the seal or do I just need to remove this pulley? Also, what do I ask for at my local Honda dealer to ensure I receive the proper seal and o-ring?

Hey there.

See if you can click on the following words:

service manual

search key works great too.