PDA

View Full Version : New member and New project.

RHschecter
11-03-2012, 06:48 PM
Just like to say hi and get my post count up so I can post on the rest of the forum. I've been playing with 3 wheelers for a few years now but have been tinkering for a long time now. I have owned 8 trikes so far but I'm down to 4 runners and lots of parts.

I've been collecting parts and doing research for my next project that I will start in January. So far I have an '83 200x and a '85 Honda Rebel 250. I see posts all the time about people trying to figure out how to make their ATVs street legal. Most states simply don't allow such a thing to happen including mine. It is still, however, possible to have a trike. The catch is you have to start with something already road legal, for example a Honda Rebel 250, and convert it into a 3 wheeler or trike.

One of the big road blocks I've seen one peoples ATVs for making them street legal is the tires and the infamous "Not for Highway Use". Well there is a few DOT Approved tires on the market. I plan on using STI Black Diamond ATR Radial ATV Tires.

So if everything goes right, which it usually doesn’t. The front forks from the 200x will bolt right up to the Rebel frame and the back half of the 200x frame, suspension, and plastics will be cut and welded into place. I plan on using the stock 250cc motor since it has more power than the 200x and electric start system to power all the lights. Exhaust is still undecided since I want something forest service approved, but quite since I have to have everything as per the letter of the law. I do plan to get pulled over a bunch in the small town I live in, but being an officer of the law myself it won’t take me for me to explain everything.