PDA

View Full Version : 1984 Big Red 200ES lack of power?

ChrisB
12-03-2012, 02:37 PM
I have a 1984 Honda Big red 200es. She's in great running condition, the guy i got it off of just replaced the piston and all the bearings, the bike runs very well, it goes first or second pull and after its warmed up it will idle all day long. It seems to be running fine but the problem im having is that is seems to have no power pushing it when going up any sort of a hill. I've tried it in all different gears but when going up hill (and even noticeable on flat) it doesnt seem to be going half as fast as it should be. I had the exact same bike before and it was a lot faster. She jumped her timing a couple weeks ago but i set that back myself and it idles fine so i dont think that that's the problem. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas how to fix this problem? Thanks. Also, I am relatively new to working on these trikes so if anything I say is completely off the wall don't be afraid to let me know.

dustrunner
12-03-2012, 05:56 PM
welcome, sounds like a clutch problem 2 me... does the engine rev up and just not go amy faster ?

ChrisB
12-03-2012, 06:00 PM
Yeah, my buddy whos into dirtbikes said he thought it was a clutch problem too, but he said he couldnt tell me anything for sure cause he doesnt know much about these bikes. and yes it just revs higher and doesnt go any faster. Is there much work to replacing/ adjusting the clutch?

dustrunner
12-03-2012, 07:32 PM
im not real sure on the 84's . the 85's have an adjuster on the right side so see if you have an adjuster on it ?

The Thing
12-03-2012, 08:44 PM
heres a vid for adjusting the clutch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_doQ2-Ldko

kb0nly
12-04-2012, 03:33 AM