PDA

View Full Version : A word of warning this holiday driving season

Scootertrash
12-17-2012, 03:33 PM
With the Holidays upon us I would like to share a personal experience with my friends and family about drinking and driving.

As you may know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a "social session" out with friends.

Well, two days ago I was out for an evening with friends and had several cocktails followed by some rather nice red wine. Feeling jolly I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. That's when I did something that I've never done before - I took a cab home. Sure enough on the way home there was a police road block, but since it was a cab they waved it past.
I arrived home safely without incident.

This was a real surprise as I had never driven a cab before, I don't know where I got it and now that it's in my garage, I don't know what to do with it.

tri again
12-17-2012, 04:06 PM
Cute story. Glad yer ok. We all enjoy your wisdom.

In the olden days, cops would just tell you to go straight home
or have your (more loaded) passenger drive.
Sometimes they'd follw you home for safety.

I think a dui is around 10 grand and a year of heartache and that's
IF NOTHING happens.

and yes, we gotta whatch out for everything.
Distracted drivers, deer and pets in the road and on and on.

I hit the brakes on a shallow corner and the truck went straight.
At the last instant, I let off the brake and the truck jumped a few feet to the left, the way the wheels were pointing.

so? I missed the ditch and did not get pinned to the dashboard by the
70 glue lam 2x4's in the bed.
By rights and elementary physics, I should still be in that ditch.

..or maybe I died and this is all a dream.
If so, I apologize for haunting the posts.

HuffieVA
12-17-2012, 04:15 PM
I may have to borrow this one, good story

Dirtcrasher
12-17-2012, 04:31 PM