PDA

View Full Version : ATC 200 oil question...I know, another one...I'm sorry

Big G
12-19-2012, 04:14 PM
I've had my '83 ATC 200 (bare bones model) since 1994. For the past 18 years I've used that trike well. I haven't abused it, but it's seen a lot of long/hard kilometers...hunting, hauling, etc. Anyways, I change the engine oil once every year, and have always used basic Quaker State 10w-30 oil. The engine runs like a dream. Starts with two pulls (even without choke - no matter how cold it is) and doesn't burn a drop of oil. She has good compression, and tons of power. Here's where I'm getting to my question. I've never really gave much thought to the oil I use, but after reading several posts on this site, I'm starting to hear alot about "wet clutches" and "only use 10w-40", etc.

My two questions are...what exactly is a "wet clutch", and if I've been using Quaker State 10w-30 for the past 18 years with absolutely no problems, should I switch to 10w-40 ATV oil at this point?

remsandpets
12-19-2012, 06:03 PM
I am no mechanic by any means, but I use wet clutch oil in my ATC200 1983 model. I'm not sure of its past life at all. I purchased it and changed the oil just to start somewhere. I personally would stay with what you have been doing if it works for your machine for this long. I'm glad to hear you have had this trike for this length of time and use it well. Post some pics of your trikes, looks like you have a good garage full of fun.

kb0nly
12-19-2012, 06:09 PM
They mean the clutch is immersed in oil or has oil flowing through it, hence its a wet clutch, not kept dry in a sealed portion of the motor.