PDA

View Full Version : 250sx Third gear missing, whats the process?

Coopart1
01-07-2013, 06:50 PM
hello, i have a 85 250sx that was pretty rough when i got it, but that damn good running engine, easy to start, kept me wanting to make it trail worthy. I this bike was going to be scraped for the engine to be used in another project, but here i am now really digging my three wheeler, only thing left to fix of any real matter is that not long after i started riding it around third gear popped out like twice...and now its not even there. no grinding no nothing just a blank gear like neutral. Others shift sweet and smooth, just no third..so what would be a good line up of trouble shooting to get to the problem first? Im not afraid to tear into things if i know what im doing or take my time with some kind of a guide, but frankly i have never tore into a motorcycle engine before and its a bit intimidating. All tips excepted, thanks folks.

redsox
01-07-2013, 11:04 PM
well, i'm just about to do the same thing, on the same machine. i just ordered a repair manuel. $10 on ebay. you can get em on here for free if you look around. i like having the book. i'm starting the process soon, so i'll let you know. good luck.

Flyingw
01-08-2013, 12:48 AM