PDA

View Full Version : Wiseco atc250r piston question?

B18PWR
01-17-2013, 05:19 PM
Hi there, this is a fairly basic question but as I'm no 2 stroke expert may be some one on here may have some answers to help me. Basically I bought a 1982 atc250r in perfect condition from California and had it shipped to the uk, the engine incredibly had never been to bits and as I'm an engineer i felt it would be a good idea to check the engine over and re piston it with new rings gaskets little end bearing etc to keep it in good shape. I did use the atc on a couple of occasions prior to this and rode it hard to make sure it was a strong unit and a worth while proposition.
My problem is that since changing the piston from the Honda item , the engine has seized twice and I have in fact gone through two new pistons . What I can tell is that the inlet timing is changed with the wiseco piston as its windowed in this area , has any one on here had experience of this and does the jetting possibly need changing drastically . All the clearences are good and infraction not as tight as I would have it if the barrel was machined . It s on its std bore size . Any advice would be greatly appreciated from you guys.

HondaRidr
01-17-2013, 05:46 PM
Did you do any heat cycles when you first started it after a new piston? The forged pistons need the the heat cycles before you ride it. Also when the piston expands faster then the cylinder it will sieze. Not letting the engine warm up before ripping on it and just getting it too hot can cause that.

B18PWR
01-17-2013, 07:37 PM
Yes I have warmed her up before any use , also run it with extra oil to help, from what I have now found out the wiseco pistons are prone to this unless extreme caution is taken in break in. This process takes much longer than normal. Each time the piston has mainly picked up on the front - exh end but on the left side (genorator side) ? Seems odd it hasn't taken all the front out uniformely?

RIDE-RED 250r