PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice from Sport quad/dirtbike owners

pcollins
02-25-2013, 12:30 AM
Hello all, I'm kinda in a stalemate with myself. You can probably guess by the title what I'm trying to decide. I've currently got an '86 200x 3 wheeler, in very nice shape, haven't decided if I'm going to keep it or not yet. Space is limited since I'm living with my folks and I'll probably be here another year or two since they only charge me 200 a month for rent, which leaves a little more for me to put in the bank to save for a house of my own.

Back on topic, I want to hear from those who own a dirt bike, sport quad, or both, on which you prefer to ride and why? There aren't many trike friendly tracks in my area and I'd like to get into some racing so that's why I'm considering selling the trike. I'm a beginner at racing if that makes any difference. I can handle my trike very well and am not afraid to hit some small jumps on the trails but I'm no professional. I'm leaning more towards a bike due to the facts: they don't take up much space, less moving parts to bust, and they look like a lot more fun.

Basically anyone who has had experience riding one or the other, enlighten me. Which should I go for? I can throw a utility quad around pretty good (i've never ridden tracks, only trails) but that's a different animal than a sport quad I assume. I don't want this to turn into a bashing thread on one or the other, I just want some opinions and facts to maybe help me make up my mind. Thanks for any and all input!

samuraiguys
02-25-2013, 12:57 AM