PDA

View Full Version : Ebay carbureters

averysdad
02-28-2013, 09:48 PM
What is the best carb to buy off ebay for a 200x? My stock carb is leaking gas like crazy and back firing when you let off the gas and there is white smoke coming from exhaust and spark plug is black. I think I may have turned the pilot screw to tight and damaged the seat. Is there a way you can tell if the seat is damaged? I dont know if I should rebuild the stock carb or just buy an after market one off of ebay. The rebuild kits are haft the price of a new carb and im not a carb expert and not sure if the seat is damaged. What is the best carb to get off of ebay and the biggest one I can get without having to modify the intake.

barnett468
02-28-2013, 10:28 PM
Hello averysdad

Unfortunately you may have a different or additional problem. The white smoke is burning OIL not gas. Excess gas is black smoke. If you remove a spark plug from a running motor and it is damp even the tiniest bit that is oil not gas no matter what color your plug is. The popping could be burnt valve, bad spark plug [try a new one], carb or points/timing. That much is bad rings, the guides may also be leaking in addition.

Where is your carb leaking, it could just be floats or something?

Why did you close the mix screw all the way, this is bad?

averysdad
02-28-2013, 11:24 PM