PDA

View Full Version : Here's some old school for ya

Scootertrash
04-04-2013, 11:08 AM
I wish I had this set up in my garage. maybe not ALL the machines, but you get the idea. Eventually I will have a Bridgeport and a nice lathe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=BckZ4i1BzF0

Worden18
04-04-2013, 12:02 PM
Love it. Being a machinist by trade, I appreciate seeing this kind of thing. It's been a while since I touched any real equipment, but my brother finally got a nice Bridgeport and an older smaller lathe just recently. At least now I can drill a straight hole if I need to :D

pipeline triker
04-04-2013, 12:59 PM
Great vid, there was a shop by me that was run all on flat belts up till just a few years ago.

SPD FRK
04-04-2013, 03:51 PM
Restores my faith in mankind.
Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters is doing something similar. He has an old school mixing board in an old school studio making real music without computers. May not be your thing but it's the same idea.

M.Pargiello
04-04-2013, 05:44 PM
Makes me wish I worked there. I would love to have a dr pepper and peanuts everyday at 9:30

atc007
04-04-2013, 06:00 PM
Gosh Scooter ,Thanx for posting that. That right there is MY kind of story. Magnificent.

Scootertrash
04-04-2013, 07:12 PM
Restores my faith in mankind.
Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters is doing something similar. He has an old school mixing board in an old school studio making real music without computers. May not be your thing but it's the same idea.

That's awesome too! I love back to basics.

Dirtcrasher
04-04-2013, 07:59 PM
I was very lucky to work with a toolmaker who liked me. I recall dropping his "last word" indicator and he was upset. I had a new lens for it in a couple days.

I ended up with a Bridgeport and a Kurt vice. My old company told me "get this thing gone this morning and it's yours" I gave them 100$ which doesn't even cover the vice.