PDA

View Full Version : 1985 200x Kick Start Return Spring - Not Returning After Rebuild

200xcheezmun
04-07-2013, 09:52 AM
I am a Wisconsin rookie trying to part two motors into one and have a good running machine. And using a manual...

Got the engine and tranny back together, tranny shifted by hand and made sure my return spring is in good condition. However, got the motor ready to go back in and tested the kick start. It kicks over but the lever doesn't return at all. Can anyone tell me if the spring has to be pre-wound from the engine running? I am hoping this occurs after the engine runs for the first time.

Any ideas would be great.
WI Rook

shortline10
04-07-2013, 10:13 AM
The main kicker spring is pre-wound about a half turn also its very important to line ALL the punch marks up . The outer kicker gears if the correct gasket isn't used it will bind as well .
Always test the kicker tension before you install the outer cases for engagement and ratchet function .

200xcheezmun
04-07-2013, 11:23 AM
Thanks for the intel on the spring, I will double check all the punch marks on the outer kicker gears (sounds like I missed one).
My worry was having to dis-assemble the main cases to get back to the return spring.

Another thought was on the latching of the return spring. From my memory, I remember it latched over the inside of the casing that splits the tranny side.
Ever here of the latch following off of the casing?

shortline10
04-07-2013, 01:57 PM
Yes one side of the spring goes in the cavity of the case and the other on the bolt . all those gears have punch marks as well and if their off it wont have the correct spring tension .

Thanks for the intel on the spring, I will double check all the punch marks on the outer kicker gears (sounds like I missed one).
My worry was having to dis-assemble the main cases to get back to the return spring.