PDA

View Full Version : Please help!!! 84 kxt 250 Tecate! Ignition coil

Tafoya55
06-16-2013, 03:25 AM
So I have recently bought an 84 kxt 250 tecate 3 and I need a new ignition coil for it. I cannot find one that isn't over 80 dollars:/ i was wondering if an ignition coil from an 86 tecate 3 would work for my 84? Sorry if this is a stupid question to some! I'm new to this!

jeswinehart
06-16-2013, 05:30 AM
There are a whole bunch of good choices here for well under 80 dollars > http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=p3984.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0&_nkw=tecate+ignition+coil&_sacat=0&_from=R40
What are the symptoms of your problem ? The ignition coils behind the fly wheel are well known to have issues, much more then the spark plug coil.

john

Tafoya55
06-16-2013, 01:00 PM
Okay here is my problem. I recently got this trike for free and they thought the engine was seized. Turns out there were little metal particles need neath the flywheel that were keeping it from turning. So i put iT back together and it started up on the second kick. I started putting the plastics on and I figured well I might as well adjust he carburetor. So i tried starting it and it did then died. I tried and tried and finally did again but it died again. I figured it is dying because when I got it it probably wasn't ridden in over 3 years. The compression slightly decreased on it as well. I read up on it and was thinking it could need a new spark plug and coil. But I'm not exactly sure.

jeswinehart
06-16-2013, 02:56 PM
Oh boy, have you pulled the flywheel back off to have a look for more of those metal particals,,, sounds like you did well in first diagnosis of finding out what the problem was. Heck I know you done well, you got it running.
I am not sure if you took a good close look at the magnets on the flywheel but those stock magnets are widely known for coming loose on Tecate flywheels and then wadding every thing up electrical they spin around.