PDA

View Full Version : hi all, im new to trikes and lookin for help on a project

2smokey
06-17-2013, 10:31 AM
hi all, just got into trikes and find them alot of fun. im used to dirtbikes and quads but this is my first trike (i accuired thru doing work on a guys motorcycle) im a small engine mechanic by the way, so i already know alot about engines. so i go a yamaha tri-moto 125 (1985 model) that starts first pull, everything works, and it looks execellent. i estimate i could sell it for 5-600, but i like it enough that i want to keep it. i plan on doing some mods for performance and handleing, and i just wanna know what you guys think. first of all, i wanna put the 175 forks on there so i will have shocks, will the YTM-200 forks work also? (i know someone with both but i want the best). also i want to find a reed spacer and put boyseen reeds in there. im planning on up-jetting the carb 1 or 2 sizes up (im runnin hard n fast at sea level) and adding a k&n or uni air filter. also i want to put a bigger front sprocket on it, im thinking going up 1 or 2 teeth, but i want to be able to tow stuff in first gear still so will 2 be too much? also i know someone that has a 175 top end but i would have to hone it (does it need sleeved or plated?) and get a new piston kit and of course it takes a different exaust and reed intake right? would it really add that much power or should i save 100$ plus parts for the top end set and just do the mods to the 125? as i said i mainly wanna ride it and have fun but theres alot of scrap metal near where i ride at and i recycle it to pay for bike stuff lol so i do want to be able to tow about 200lbs in first gear (it worked great today on a huge old boxtruck ramp) so what do you guys think? this is my first trike and i dont know anyone else who has one, so any and all help would be appreciated and i can promise you pics of my work

RIDE-RED 250r
06-17-2013, 05:03 PM