PDA

View Full Version : got an 84 Yamaha ytm200

84ytm200
07-30-2013, 05:09 PM
ok so i am new to trikes but not to dirtbikes and quads. got a good trade i believe on this trike. it runs good except for one problem, going up/down steep hills or making sharp turns it bogs down and dies and will not crank again til leveled out. i have already taken the carb off and cleaned it very well. it really wasnt that dirty inside anyways. im not sure what else to check on it now. this trike has good tires, doesnt smoke or knock. plastics are faded and it needs new front brake pads but i love it. traded a beat up 2000 kawasaki ke100 enduro for this trike. i just want to figure out the carb issue. any help would be great. i have searched on here and on google but cant find any info other than cleaning the carb which i have done

Jwmajic
07-30-2013, 06:11 PM
Have you checked to see if the floats are set right?

84ytm200
07-30-2013, 06:14 PM
im not sure exactly how to set the float on this trike. it has a mikuni carb. i did however just install a clear inline fuel filter and with it running it doesnt seem to fill the filter up very much. im thinking maybe the fuel valve is clogged or something in the tank is blocking it. still could be something with the float as well though

GunsShooting
07-30-2013, 06:50 PM
I recommend you pull the fuel tank off and rinse it out well. The way I do it is slosh the gas all around, then pour it into a plastic drain pain. Then I strain the gas back into the fuel tank using a funnel and cloth. If the gas is old and stale, though, just dump it (makes good weed killer). You might be surprised how much crud is in the tank, which keeps the gas from flowing.

Might also be water in there too, and since water is heavier than gas, it sits at the bottom of the tank and causes problems.

84ytm200
07-30-2013, 06:56 PM