PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with 1985 big red 250es rear end (differential)!!!

Bigbadred
08-09-2013, 07:09 PM
Hey everyone, I'm new to working on big reds (as I just purchased my first one) and it appears there is so serious grinding n such going on in my differential. I drained the diff oil and sure enough it was pouring out metal shavings. I even put the trike in neutral and felt the diff gear as a rolled it backwards and it felt chipped.

Now I started the surgery and can't seem to remove the axle from the diff. I've taken apart the casing and I cannot slide the axle through. May sound dumb but like I said in a newb to repairing trikes and I would really appreciate some help. Thanks and hope to get some insight!

:TrikesOwn

Larry T Moore
08-09-2013, 08:28 PM
get ahold of FlyingW..he got that stuff in his head like a library..set ya right up

Flyingw
08-09-2013, 08:35 PM
You have to get the left hub off. Unbolt the left axle tube and remove it. The axle is retained in the left and right axle tubes with a collar on each end of the axle. Remove the brake panel on the right. Its retained by four nuts. Now the axle should slide out the right side. If metal shavings are coming out of the diff drain, chances are the pinion gear needle bearing failed causing the pinion gear to wobble on the ring gear. The bottom line is.....the diff is toast. Look in the fill hole at the ring gear teeth. They should be smooth with square teeth edges. Bet they are chewed up. Scope it out and report back.

Bigbadred
08-10-2013, 10:26 AM
Hey thanks for the reply! So your saying the axle slides out the right side? Like toward the rear brake? I've always been trying to slide it through the left side

GunsShooting
08-10-2013, 02:14 PM
Hey thanks for the reply! So your saying the axle slides out the right side? Like toward the rear brake? I've always been trying to slide it through the left side