PDA

View Full Version : I've tried everything with this broken exhaust stud!

chargercharlie
08-23-2013, 07:33 PM
I'm a newb with these motors. .its an 86 200x and I've tried all the little tricks posted in this forum
all with no luck..so I ask u gentlemen what are the consequences of just buying a head off ebay and pairing it with my motor....anything I shoud look out for ? Drilling and taping just seems like more money than just buying a head..and I really don't
Have a steady hand or a tap and die set..thougts anyone? Thanks in advance.

kb0nly
08-23-2013, 09:02 PM
Thought... If you replace the head your opening a big can of worms. You not only need a head, but a gasket set, pulling the motor to work on it, etc. Then you get into a case of you might as wells and the next thing you know you have spent a couple hundred on the top end. Not saying its a bad thing, but i would much rather work on the broken stud then tear into the motor if its running good otherwise!

Any machine shops locally? I would get a price from one to bring the trike there and have them get the stud out. I had a shop do both studs on a head once, cost me about $70. Figure the cost of a head and gaskets and such and its easily the same cost.

Where are you at with it? Broken off flush or? If you were close to me, your not obviously, i would get that trailprotrailprotrailprotrailprotrailprotrailprotr ailpro out. I have had good luck removing stuff like that.

chargercharlie
08-23-2013, 09:16 PM
I've got the motor out actually to rebuild needs new rings ..prob a bore job and def new gaskets..have that on the way heh..its broke off prob a 1/16 from the head ..I've thought of taking it to the machine shop but around houston..no telling what they will charge

GunsShooting
08-23-2013, 10:13 PM
Call around and ask, that doesn't cost anything but time.

emmie357
08-24-2013, 12:06 AM