PDA

View Full Version : 1984 Honda atc 200x Little Oil in the Air Box! Problem? Please Help!

irishfan84n
08-26-2013, 11:05 PM
I just got a '84 200x that has been sitting for a while after the previous owner (my uncle) rebuilt the entire motor. I was taking the lid off the air filter box and checking things out when I found a little bit of oil on the filter and in the box itself. Is this a major problem? Remember I am new to trikes. Thanks in advance for the help!! :beer

hatc200x1
08-26-2013, 11:51 PM
Its probably a foam air filter, foam air filters NEED to be oiled, and some drips off into the airbox.

Ghostv2
08-26-2013, 11:56 PM
I use spray on oil for foam air filters, would never cause anything like that.
Maybe someone used any old oil and soaked it and didnt squeeze all the excess out. Just clean it all out, use proper oil and see if it appears again.

CodyRosa
08-27-2013, 01:05 AM
x2 ghostv2 said.. even if the rings were gone I can't see oil going all the way back there to that filter. I suppose anything could happen though haha

Ghostv2
08-27-2013, 01:10 AM
x2 ghostv2 said.. even if the rings were gone I can't see oil going all the way back there to that filter. I suppose anything could happen though haha

On my 225dx the crank case breather tube goes into a small box then into the air box. When i got it, it was dripping oil everywhere in there. Dont see the point, but its possible. I dont see it happening on a 200x though.

irishfan84n
08-27-2013, 01:34 AM
Thanks so much for the info. I will just clean it and keep an eye out!

GunsShooting
08-27-2013, 01:34 AM
Check the oil level. If its too high, the oil will be routed into the air box. Also smell the oil, if it smells like gas the carb float is stuck and leaking gas into the crankcase through the piston.

Ghostv2
08-27-2013, 02:17 AM