PDA

View Full Version : new to me 1984 ATC 125M

Goatwrangler
09-01-2013, 08:31 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to 3 wheelers. A friend of mine who is on this forum finally talked me into getting one. Thanks Tyler...

I'm from Whitestown, Indiana and dont know jack when it comes to these trikes so I'm hoping to learn all I can.

The problem with my 84 is that it has spark (blue) but wont even try to hiccup when using starting fluid on it.
I dont have a manual on it so I'm not sure how to check the timing or anything like that. Does anyone have any ideas for me to start with ?

Thanks,

Jason

GunsShooting
09-01-2013, 08:49 PM
Try a new spark plug. I have had plugs make a nice spark outside the engine, but fail to spark at all when installed in the engine.

Russ

Goatwrangler
09-01-2013, 08:53 PM
Thx Russ,

I was thinking that but seemed to have good spark so I didnt think about a new one.
Ill replace it and report back.

Jason

tripledog
09-01-2013, 09:06 PM
Just a tip, but carb cleaner is less likely to damage the piston rings and other internal engine components than starting fluid. Good luck, and welcome to the forum! :p

bigman00
09-01-2013, 09:16 PM
some times the plug will not fire under compression. ever thought it looks good out of the cylinder. good luck with the 125 nice trike that was my first. look forward to seeing some pics

Goatwrangler
09-01-2013, 09:29 PM
Thanks everyone and I was unaware carb cleaner could be a substitute for ether.

Jason

kb0nly
09-01-2013, 09:41 PM
I buy a little spray bottle from the local hardware store, cleaning isle, get a little one for like a buck or less, fill with fresh gas. Better than ether or carb cleaner, etc. They are meant to run off gas, give it gas, thats my philosophy... You can set the bottle to stream to pump into the plug hole or set it to mist and spray into the back of the carb while your cranking.