PDA

View Full Version : your opinion matters...

440scout
09-19-2013, 02:25 AM
i have been chasing a certain 85 250r for a few years now and finally picked it up for free... the last time i saw and rode this bike it was a really clean awesome running stock bike... that was 15 yrs ago... it is no longer a nice bike (hence the reason it was free i guess) anyway a few years ago the last owner put a pipe on it and did not change jets.. leaned out burnt up the piston... took it apart to fix it, moved and left the bike at his brothers house... his brother also had a 250 and proceeded to use this one as a parts bike... so i am missing some things and would like your opinion on what to use and where to get it... first i need to tell you that over the years i have been running through my mind about how i would make this into a drag bike.. reality is if it was a drag bike it would probably never get used... so i would like to put this back together basically stock with a pipe and maybe a little more compression.. so heres what i need....
1. piston and rings along with a gasket set (top end kit i guess)
2. carburetor is missing along with the throttle and cable..
3. the pipe that started all this is gone too..
4. the chain is wasted....
5. the brakes dont work.. i assume we rebuild them where do i get the kits for the masters?
i am thinking that some of the suppliers you lead me to will help me get parts for my other three bikes, 90 110 200x
thanks again
doug

dougspcs
09-19-2013, 08:55 AM
Choices before you as I see them:

1st, part out and sell the rest of the machine. Some good profit to put toward a machine needing less..hell the left engine cover alone is worth a mint if undamaged!

2nd, start the long road back to good condition with the understanding you could be spending more on your project than it would cost to buy a decent runner.

3rd, buy a decent runner and use this machine as a donor for the bits you might need.