PDA

View Full Version : New Member getting back on 3

Blue Viffer
01-05-2014, 02:25 PM
Ok here's my story. I am a Honda Automobile Mechanic. I got into 3 wheelers in 1983, the guys I worked with were going to Pismo every month and invited me one trip. I was put on a 185s with a group going for a ride on Friday night after we got our camp site set up. Did well that first ride only dumped it twice trying to keep up with the other bikes (6 250r's) while upshifting while trying to down shift. The group I rode with would always have an experienced rider at the back to help anyone that fell or got lost.
After digging the big fish hook out of my throat I was at the Dealer on Monday and bought a 83 200x. I had figured it would be my wife's bike and after a learning process I would get a 250r. The next week we had our own truck and camper. The following we had a trailer to tow the bike on. About 4 months or 4 trips to Pismo later I got the 250r. Picked up a 300 kit and sent it to Curtis Sparks for some play porting. Decided to ride the 250 as it was for a couple of trips. What a mistake. It was so pipy that when I put the 300 kit on it was heaven.
Fast forward about ten years and a Divorce, sold or lost everything. Got into street bikes hence the Blue Viffer. Fast forward another 10 years now my son is back into 3 wheelers. He was put on the front of mine when he was 13 Months old and could not get enough in those days. He had also rode street bikes with me. Anyway after he got back into 3 wheelers he would call and tell me what he was doing. Ask if I would move out to where he was. And entice me on visits with renting quads to ride Jeep trails with him and his family. Finally this last year he talked to his Step Mom and asked if we would come out if he got me another 3 wheeler.
So he went and did it he got me a 1983 250r with a 300 kit. He was going to build it up and invite me out to Little Sahara Mosh 8. Well he didn't quite make it. He passed on in November.