PDA

View Full Version : Honda 185s... So close, yet so far away...

Jonny Robertz
01-22-2014, 09:41 PM
Okay, so I have posted the many issues I have had on this Honda 185s project. I think I have worked out most of the kinks and it is running again. Sort of. Now it runs okay with the choke fully on. By "okay", I mean it starts and runs but the idle is sort of all over the place. At first it is moderately high, then after about 2-3 seconds it slows down to normal. Then it is back and forth between normal idle and almost shutting off. This is all with the choke on. If I adjust the choke to half or off the trike dies immediately. It seems like I am an adjustment away from this thing running normally. Now, I am fairly new to diagnosing problems with these because, let's face it, this a Honda and generally only requires basic maintenance and the occasional carb cleaning. However, my guess is that I am getting too much air...? If the choke is on I am not allowing let air in, and with it off I am opening the carb to the air box, right? I know there is a pilot air screw up on the bottom of the carb and I have heard anywhere from 1/4 turn open, to 1.5 turns open, to the manual recommendation of 2 full turns open. Also, the screw on the side of the carb that actually touches and adjusts the slide level, any idea what the setting is on this, or is it just a tuning thing that I need to play with while it's running? This is also the pain in the ass idle adjustment that is a small nut on top of the cap on the carb with the needle and throttle cable running through it. This is really tough to adjust while it is running but I really don't know where it should be. When I had it running good before it was about 3/4 of the way up. It may be a combination of adjustments but any input would be helpful. Maybe I have an air leak? If so, where do I start looking? I always feel like I am on the right track with thing but it's like 1 step forward and 2 steps back for some reason. I bought t