PDA

View Full Version : Any Cadillac gurus here

briano
02-20-2014, 04:18 PM
I'm going to look at a 97 Caddy after work, the guy says there's an issue. First off, I'm a mechanic and know a little bit about what's going on but this is kind of odd. He says the car started this after changing the radiator, it will just all of a sudden peg to HOT and piss coolant out of the overflow, you can pull over and fill the coolant and take right off and it's fine. He says it will do this out of nowhere about every three or four weeks in the summer. Now it hasn't acted up since November. This car is in beautiful condition and I'm looking to buy it for $1000. I really don't think it's a head gasket issue because it can be driven for so long between the overheatings. Anything else you guys can think of. By the way there is 104,000 miles on the car and it is the Northstar engine.

trike savior
02-20-2014, 05:13 PM
i have a 97 deville concours and have done a ton of research on the cars and have helped a few family friends when similar things happened on theirs. IT IS THE HEADGASKETS, GUARANTEED. the 4 cam northstar motor is notorious for it. it only has to get hot once and it is done. whatever happened that caused him to change the radiator probably involved an overheat event and that is it. it is very expensive to fix.
they wont leak externally, but internally, causing the cooling system to become pressurized with combustion. this crates air pockets which gives you overheating when driving.

the fix:
what actually happens with these is when it gets hot the aluminum block releases the threads for the head studs. this causes the gasket to leak and in most cases warps the head.
provided you get lucky and the heads do not need to be re-decked. all the old studs need to be removed and the holes re-threaded. there is a new replacement head stud kit that uses coarser tread head studs to keep this from happening again.