PDA

View Full Version : I am OFFICIALLY the WORST TIG welder in the world.....

Dirtcrasher
02-26-2014, 12:02 AM
:cool: The only move from here is up!!

It got to 40 degrees so I went to try and play with thew TIG welder on some 6061 aluminum. Never touched it before and with mig welding, it took 5 minutes to learn. Clean clean clean is all I read!!

I read the book but the 4 hours of Youtube vidz seem to give me a better mindset going back at it.

It is now 11 degrees outside so it may be a few more days, but WOW!! do I suk! :lol:

I'm my best critic but also a good learner and mostly self taught (don't count Youtube :) )

DC

jays375
02-26-2014, 12:16 AM
Nothing like starting with the hardest stuff first.You do love a challenge.Man I wish we lived closer to each other.Your a smart dude and will figure it out.YouTube will help you out a lot.My aluminum welding skills are good enough to get by.Wait till you try to weld up a engine case.Seems like things go great till your almost done.You'll get it figured out.Maybe practice on some stainless or mild steel first.

Dirtcrasher
02-26-2014, 01:00 AM
^ Yeah, all the goodies on a Miller; I learned today how to form a ball on the end of the Tungsten for aluminum welding.

Yeah Jay, at least I didn't start with titanium! :lol:

Dave Little
02-26-2014, 01:19 AM
I spent more time cleaning my tungsten after dipping it into my puddles than welding when I was learning and never did get very good. My stuff never broke, but I could never get a nice long consistent bead. The guy who taught (or tried to) teach me was an artist. Seek the help of an expert when in doubt.:beer