PDA

View Full Version : Ground location for YTM225DX

VtamRLN
03-05-2014, 06:40 PM
Newbie here. Please be kind.

Bought a used 1984 Yamaha YTM225DX. It had been buried in a barn under a pile of hay for several years. It ran but smoked horribly and was very hard to start. Had cylinder bored and rings. Ran super strong but darn near broke my shoulder trying to pull start. Trike had been scabbed together from it and another trike. There was never a battery in it and it did not have starter cables. Bought a battery, and have located a correct cable set. It does have electric start. Positive cable is a no-brainer. The questions is the ground cable. Based on the extra outer casing, it appears to go to the engine in some hot location. The hole in the cable appears to be approximately 3/16th diameter. I have a Haynes manual for the trike, but it says nothing about the battery and cable routing.

So the question is.......What is the correction routing and location for the ground cable connection?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Ghostv2
03-05-2014, 08:59 PM
The ground cable runs from the battery and bolts to the frame right next to it. By the grab bar. If you need pics I can get you some.

VtamRLN
03-06-2014, 11:14 AM
The ground cable runs from the battery and bolts to the frame right next to it. By the grab bar. If you need pics I can get you some.

Ghost, not disagreeing with you, and I agree that it COULD work there. I have a legitimate set of stock OEM cables. The positive cable is a duplicate of the existing cable. The ground cable is this case is almost 2 feet long. I don't think that they would have made that long to bolt up to the frame near the grab handle.