PDA

View Full Version : *** OK - dumb question here. ***

bkvette3
04-21-2014, 10:53 PM
What the heck is a power valve in a 2 stroke engine??? (go easy on me - I am a NOob here and I feel stupid for asking.) Is there such a thing in my '85 250R ATC??? I am thinking not. Someone school me here. Thanks.

slashfan7964
04-21-2014, 11:11 PM
It basically changes the exhaust timing a little bit with the speed of the engine to give more low end grunt and power across a wider RPM range before that hit into the power band that everyone associates 2 strokes with. No, your 250R does not have one. No 250R had one.

bkvette3
04-22-2014, 06:23 AM
It basically changes the exhaust timing a little bit with the speed of the engine to give more low end grunt and power across a wider RPM range before that hit into the power band that everyone associates 2 strokes with. No, your 250R does not have one. No 250R had one.

Thank-you, slashfan7964. Now I know.

Ghostv2
04-22-2014, 10:17 AM
Aaaaand now I know too. :)

Liquid-Darkness
04-22-2014, 10:30 AM
Doesnt a CR 250R or 500R have a power valve??

DohcBikes
04-22-2014, 10:52 AM
Slash is referring to three wheelers, not dirtbikes.

To add to his explanation, the power valve does control exhaust by affecting the amount of flow and how long the exhaust port is open.

Not a fan of Wiki, but it actually has a good explanation of how a CR powervalve works so here it is.

Honda ATAC