PDA

View Full Version : banshee 1 cylinder not running rite.

joe schmo
05-04-2014, 11:32 AM
My first banshee and i'm new to banshees.. I tried other forms (it's a 4wheeler:/),with no help at all..I have a 99 that was running good but the sprocket and shifter seals leaked, then I rebuilt it. now after build the one cylinder some times runs then brakes up, in neutral it will rev out ok on both. if i hold the gas at the rite spot the left stator side brakes up,same if i drive it but in powerband its ;ok if i can get it in when i'm riding it. I have new rings and lite hone job 150psi on each,new gaskets with All seals,leak down test it held 6psi for 10min then I let the air out.....new plug's,I switched the spark plug wires,checked the reeds,cleaned the carbs 3 times, the brass ball in the bowl is on choke lever side,slide cut outs on air filter side,coke tube is clear,carbs synced,tors kit with the tors unplugged also is the parking brake, the whole exhaust is clear..I even used a other set of stock carbs with stock and same jett size..I have fmf fattys headers with paul turner tips,prodesign kit with k&n filter no lid,i think stock carbs with 310 main jets and 30 pilots.. I'm sure I forgot some things,Thanks.

bansheekx
05-04-2014, 11:43 AM
Have you tested the stator? Pickup gap set correctly?

joe schmo
05-04-2014, 11:49 AM
Thank you,yes I did..The side with the line i set at .018 but when I turn it to the other side the gap is a little bigger..stator tested ok with a good ground..I have a pair from the deal but the 87 has no motor but every thing else. She ran good before I built it.

bansheekx
05-04-2014, 12:00 PM
When it's running on one cylinder try pulling the choke out a little to see if it will start firing the dead cylinder. If that works you have a carb problem. You may also want to check the spark plug caps.

joe schmo
05-04-2014, 12:03 PM
Thanks,I tried the choke and it got worse.

bansheekx
05-04-2014, 12:13 PM