PDA

View Full Version : Oil leak question for an 85 atc250es!!

Lambo200s
05-07-2014, 03:00 PM
Hopefully the attachments can be viewed from this post. I have been a member for a while now but I am still learning the most efficient way to communicate and navigate through the website. So, here we go. For the experts who have the experience and advice...I need it! In one picture you will see me pointing to a vent tube that releases/attaches from the top of the motor case below the carb. I had removed the clip and hose to remove starter for repairs. Before finishing the starter repairs I tightened down the starter bolts and took it riding using just the kick start. No big deal. Only I did not press the tube back on to the 3 way vent adapter joining the 3 tubes under carb. So, I rode for about 4 hours straight toward the end of an afternoon and toward the end of the ride the trike got really hot. We had periodically stopped to cool them but mostly all trail rides with enough wind to cool the bikes down. Only, as mentioned earlier toward the end of the ride we finished at a downhill ride using the low gear to slowly walk the trikes down safely. My big red started smoking from oil that had hit the header pipe just beneath the burn guard. Just near the idle screw. The bottom of my air box has spillage. The back of the motor case, back of skid plate, and most of the air box hardware is all covered in a coat of oil. There are drips of oil at bottom of motor to. I have swabbed the motor clean looking for the leak as well as inspected everything but no conclusive evidence has revealed itself as to where the leak is exactly. So, questions present themselves. Any advice is greatly appreciated and thank you in advance for sharing knowledge and expert advice. First question. If the bike is hot and I had not thoroughly pushed the vent tube back on the fitted connector. Could oil have sprayed out bc the motor temp was high and the bike was riding up and down hills? Second, If the ve