PDA

View Full Version : New to the Forum (82 200e Big Red)

Duckhunter1
05-19-2014, 10:11 AM
New to the forum, this is my first time attempting to mess with a three wheeler. Picked up a 1982 ATC 200e Big Red yesterday. Was told it needs a Tensioner replaced. Anyone know how hard this is to do or where to even start? Its in ruff condition but i would like to restore it or atleast make it rideable for now. Thanks for any help.

dougspcs
05-19-2014, 10:22 AM
Well assuming the reason is due to a rattling in the engine at idle??

It's a job that will take a reasonable degree of mechanical knowledge..since usually the tensioner is worn out at about the same time the timing chain is all stretched and ready for replacement. Since it means pulling the motor from the machine(some say it can be done in) and the head/cylinder removed you are basically talking about a full top end job.

If it doesn't smoke too bad and the cylinder & piston aren't scored you could likely get away with a new set of rings/gaskets/chain&tensioners. Then hone the cylinder and put it all back together..a pretty good job to cut your teeth on actually.

Just be prepared for some breakage and complications as you take things apart..exhaust studs and such.

prometheus
05-19-2014, 10:54 AM
Welcome to 3WW. He's right it will test your mechanical skill if you've never been that deep into the engine before. That being said there is nothing that can be taken apart we can't help you get back together. Have you gotten it running? What makes you think it needs tensioner and chain? Post some pics.

Duckhunter1
05-19-2014, 01:21 PM
Welcome to 3WW. He's right it will test your mechanical skill if you've never been that deep into the engine before. That being said there is nothing that can be taken apart we can't help you get back together. Have you gotten it running? What makes you think it needs tensioner and chain? Post some pics.